Student Club/Organization Sign-Up

At The College of the Florida Keys, going to college is about more than just going to classes. That’s why we encourage student and faculty participation in extracurricular activities and organizations. The following clubs are currently registered and chartered at CFK and are open for membership by any CFK student who has enrolled in at least two courses during the academic year. 

Student Government Association

The purpose of the SGA shall be to unify clubs on campus and in the context of a nurturing environment, promote cultural and social events beneficial to the student populous. Its duties shall also include coordinating student activities, promoting an intellectual interest in all phase of the college life, increasing the sense of individual responsibility among the student body, and encouraging cooperation between the students and the administration. The SGA shall act as a liaison through which student issues, thoughts, and concerns are conveyed to the administration, faculty, and staff.

Club Advisor: Michael Wedincamp, michael.wedincamp@cfk.edu

Scuba Club

Do you enjoy scuba diving? Then this club is for you! Take part in exciting club activities and field trips. Member benefits include air fills, use of equipment on club dives, reduced price dives with the club and some access to discounted equipment.

Club Advisors: Lucja Rice, lucja.rice@fkcc.edu | Gavin Bosco, gavin.bosco@fkcc.edu

Bone Island Athletic Club

This club serves as a support club to aid fundraising, recruiting volunteers for events, coordinating activities for swim programs, and any other activities held at the CFK Pool.

Club Advisor: Lori Bosco, lori.bosco@fkcc.edu

Aquaculture Club

Our club is a member of the Marine Aquarium Societies of North America (MASNA). Our purpose is to further outreach, bringing the benefits, activities, and news of the Societies to our students; to provide increased opportunity for student involvement; and to provide increased opportunity for students to organize and participate in activities that encourage the ethical growth of the marine aquarium hobby and support captive breeding/propagation efforts.

Club Advisors: Travis Knorr, travis.knorr@fkcc.edu | Dr. Michelle Walsh, michelle.walsh@fkcc.edu

This is Me (LGBTQIA) Organization

Our mission is to offer an opportunity for students to network in a safe space for LGBTQIA students and their allies to explore issues, discuss topics and events.

Club Advisor: John Rouge, john.rouge@fkcc.edu | Robyn Mayer robyn.mayer@fkcc.edu

Student Nurse Association (SNA)

The Student Nurse Association (SNA) is a local chapter of the National Student Nurse Association. The mission of the Key West chapter is to support the community through education, advocacy, and wellness activities.

Club Advisor: Carla Fry, carla.fry@fkcc.edu

Book Club

The Book Clubs purpose is to expand members’ personal literary experiences, to provide an open forum for exchange of ideas and opinions, and to strengthen and inspire the The College of the Florida Keys.

Club Advisor: Bryan Gaitan, bryan.gaitan@fkcc.edu

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

Be a part of the International Honor Society of the two-year college. Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society is open to students who have completed at least 12 hours of coursework and have a GPA of 3.25 or higher. Phi Theta Kappa members are privy to exclusive scholarship opportunities applied both at the current community college as well as the transfer institution. The Society also provides opportunities for personal and professional development and leadership. Membership fee $82.00.

Club Advisors: Dr. Michelle “Mick” Walsh, michelle.walsh@fkcc.edu | Steve Kocis, steven.kocis@fkcc.edu

Outcasts for Christ

The College of the Florida Keys' Outcasts for Christ is a part of a movement of college students with the mission to reconcile students to Christ: transforming the university, the marketplace, and the world

Club Advisor: Jeff Smith, jeffrey.smith6@fkcc.edu

Creative Writing Club

The purpose of the Creative Writing Club is to create and support a community of writers.

Advisor: Emily Weekley, emily.weekley@fkcc.edu

CFK’s Special Olympics College Club

CFK’s Special Olympics College club’s goal is to support Special Olympics athletes, to be cheerleaders, friends and spread knowledge on interacting with individuals with disabilities. Our vision is to have a unique group of students working together as a team; to support each other, become mentors and to build lifelong friendships.

Club Advisor: Shai Foy, shekinah.foy@fkcc.edu

Environmental Club

The Environmental Club’s Purpose is to create student awareness of environmental issues in the community and on campus. Maintaining our natural environment is extremely important for us and our unique surroundings in the Florida Keys . For some individuals, the purpose of the club may be to develop an appreciation for the environment through outdoor activities and education.

Club Advisor: Dr. Bill Irwin, william.irwin@fkcc.edu

International Student Organization

The International Students Club allows people from around the world to meet, make friends and offer each other support while on campus. US students who join can learn more about a variety of places instead of only the ones they are studying.

Club Advisor: Hillary Castillo-Montiel, hillary.castillomont@fkcc.edu

Sigma Alpha Pi (SAP) National Society of Leadership and Success

Sigma Alpha Pi is the honor society of the National Society for Leadership and Success. The Society is a renowned nationwide training organization dedicated to creating long-term positive changes in student’s lives. Students must have a GPA of 2.5 or higher. Once a member, club benefits include scholarships, awards, exclusive on-campus events, employer recruitment through an online job bank, and discounts on computers, textbooks, prep courses, insurance and much more. Membership fee $95.00.

Advisors: Shai Foy, shekinah.foy@cfk.edu; Hillary Castillo-Montiel, hillary.castillomont@cfk.edu

Special Olympics Unified Flag Football Team

CFK’s Special Olympics Unified Flag Football Team’s mission is to provide unified team training and athletic competitions for individuals with and without intellectual disabilities, giving everyone the opportunity to develop physical fitness, demonstrate courage, experience joy, develop skills, make new friendships and to be part of a team. “Let me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in the attempt.”

Club Advisor: Matthew Wells, matthew.wells@fkcc.edu

Coral Conservation Club

Advisors: Jason Spadaro, angelo.spadaro@fkcc.edu | Patrick Rice, patrick.rice@fkcc.edu

Renewable Energy Club

Advisor: Vijay Khanal, vijay.khanal@fkcc.edu